Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Straight No Chaser - A Jazz Show

Straight No Chaser is the place for jazz lovers (and those who will soon be jazz lovers) to enjoy podcasts with their favorite music and artists. Winner of the 2017 JazzTimes Readers' Poll for Best Podcast, your host Jeffrey Siegel will take you inside the world of jazz, from the new releases to the best festiva;s to remembrances of jazz legends.

Shorter, Smith, Truesdell dominate JJA Jazz Awards

May 2, 2013

Veteran saxophonist Wayne Shorter, longtime creative music trumpeter Wadada Leo Smith, and newcomer Ryan Truesdell were top winners of the 2013 Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards announced yesterday online at their website.

Sonny Rollins was named "Emeritus Jazz Artist – Beyond Voting," and other winners were divided between familiar names and new ones, although consistency with past results was more frequent than turnover of Awards to new nominees.
Shorter, who emerged in the 1960s as a member of Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers and Miles Davis' "second great quintet" besides his own classic albums on Blue Note Records and long collaboration in Weather Report, won the Award for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz and for Soprano Saxophonist of the Year. The Wayne Shorter Quartet , featuring pianist Danilo Perez, bassist John Patitucci and drummer Brian Blade was named Best Small Ensemble.
Smith, born in Arkansas, steeped in the blues but also an early member of Chicago's Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians and now a professor at California Institute for the Arts, was named Jazz Musician of the Year and Trumpeter of the Year, partly in recognition of his acclaimed album Ten Freedom Summers. That album was a nominee for Best Record of the Year, though that Award went to Centennial: Newly Discovered Works of Gil Evans, the debut album of bandleader Ryan Truesdell – and Ryan Truesdell's Gil Evans Project was named Best Large Ensemble of the Year. (Click here to listen to a podcast with Truesdell from last summer.)
A full list of the winners of music categories in the 17th annual Awards voted for by the JJA, a non-profit professional organization of writers, photographers, broadcasters and new media producers, is available here
. Winners of the JJA's Jazz Awards for excellence in journalism will be announced at a ticketed event to be held at the Blue Note Jazz Club in New York City on June 19. Several of those winners have been featured in podcasts, which can be found here (Luciana Souza); here (Aaron Diehl); here (Anat Cohen); here (Chris Potter); here (Gary Smulyan);and  here (Dr. Lonnie Smith).
The JJA, with some 300 members mostly in North America but scattered across Europe, Asia, South America and New Zealand, too, has a mission to sustain journalism about jazz and related musics in a media landscape that currently includes both traditional and newly emergent platforms  -- blogs, websites, self-produced videos, podcasts, social media and the like. The Association's recent JazzApril campaign in support of Jazz Appreciation Month and International Jazz Day comprised, among other facets, the establishment of a 60-member Media Network and the celebration of 26 community-designated "Jazz Heroes" in 24 U.S. cities and Ottawa, Canada.