Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Straight No Chaser - A Jazz Show


Straight No Chaser is the place for jazz lovers (and those who will soon be jazz lovers) to enjoy podcasts with their favorite music and artists. Winner of the 2017 JazzTimes Readers' Poll for Best Podcast, your host Jeffrey Siegel will take you inside the world of jazz, from the new releases to the best festiva;s to remembrances of jazz legends.

Watch 2014 All-Star Global Concert for International Jazz Day

Apr 29, 2014

Osaka, Japan has been selected to serve as the 2014 Global Host City for International Jazz Day tomorrow. This year’s celebration will kick off with a daylong series of jazz education programs, including performances, roundtable discussions, master classes, instrumental workshops and more conducted by world-renowned jazz musicians and educators at the Osaka School of Music. The evening All-Star Global Concert at the famed outdoor Osaka Castle Park will feature performances by the 2014 All-Star Global Concert will feature internationally renowned artists including pianists: Toshiko Akiyoshi, Kris Bowers, John Beasley, Herbie Hancock and Makoto Ozone; vocalists Dee Dee Bridgewater, Jonathan Butler, Roberta Gambarini, Lalah Hathaway, Gregory Porter, Oumou Sangaré and Dionne Warwick; trumpeters Theo Croker, Roy Hargrove, Claudio Roditi and Terumasa Hino; bassists James Genus, Marcus Miller and Esperanza Spalding; drummers Terri Lyne Carrington, T.S.Monk, Shuichi Hidano and the Taiko Masters; percussionists Pete Escovedo and Sheila E.; saxophonists Kenny Garrett, Courtney Pine, Troy Roberts, Wayne Shorter and Lew Tabackin; trombonist Steve Turre; guitarists Chris Thomas King, Earl Klugh, John Scofield and Joe Louis Walker.

As in 2013, the Global Concert will be streamed live worldwide via the UNESCO, U.S. Department of State, and Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz websites. Individuals and organizations the world over are invited to screen the concert live or organize their own unique event in honor of International Jazz Day. Over 100 countries have been confirmed already; see what activities will be happening near you by visiting the 2014 events page. You can see the webcast at the following starting times:

New York: 6am | London: 11am | Istanbul: 1pm | Tokyo: 7pm | Sydney: 8pm

The webcast will be available on demand within 4 hours of the original start time.