Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Straight No Chaser - A Jazz Show

Welcome to Straight No Chaser, the Award-winning Podcast hosted by Jeffrey Siegel

Oct 29, 2012

It’s Hallowe’en time again, and so its time for our semi-annual Spooky Songs Podcast (you can find past editions here and here). This year we feature some monstrous tunes from both new and established artists you may enjoy.

It seems like the little ghouls and goblins in our neighborhood are going to miss the whole Trick or Treats scene again this year, as Hurricane Sandy seems to be picking up where a freak snow storm that paralyzed our part of the Northeast left off last year. Nancy and I may be sitting by the fireplace with her famous Pumpkin Martinis in hand, rather than greeting our Trick or Treaters and handing out goodies. But in either event,  we will be digging tunes like these:

Al Di Meola – “Invention of the Monsters” from The Infinite Desire. Guitar ace DiMeola recorded this electric tune in 1998, backed by Mario Parmisano (keyboards); Ernie Adams (drums); and Tom Kennedy (bass).

Garaj Mahal – “Witch Doctor” from No More Mr. Nice Guy, A lively mixture of fusion, funk and world music, this “jam jazz” group is composed of Kai Eckhardt (bass), Fareed Haque (guitars), Alan Hertz and Sean Rickman (drums) and Eric Levy (keyboards).

Max Roach - “The Glorious Monster” from M’Boom. This was a 1979 release from the noted all-percussion band created by the venerable Mr. Roach. Fellow band members were Roy Brooks, Joe Chambers, Omar Clay, Fred King, Warren Smith, Freddie Watts, Ray Mantilla and Kenyatte Abdur-Rahman.

Naked Truth – “Garden Ghosts” from Ourboros. A blend of progressive rock and avant-garde jazz, Naked Truth is composed of Graham Haynes (cornet), Lorenzo Feliciati (bass), Pat Mastelotto (drums), and Roy Powell (keyboards). Add in the production talents of Bill Laswell, and you’ve got quite a mix. Watch for a Laswell interview and podcast in November.

Jimmy Herring - “Meeting of the Spirits” from Visions of an Inner Mounting Apocalypse (A Fusion Guitar Tribute). A fusion all-star band of Vinnie Colaiuta (drums), Kai Eckhardt (bass), Mitchell Forman (keyboards) and Jerry Goodman (violin) pays tribute to John McLaughlin, joined by a collection of the top guitar shredders of the day. This track stars Herring, presently with the band Widespread Panic, but also a former member of Jazz is Dead and the Allman Brothers Band.

Maceo Parker – “Black Widow” from Dial: MACEO. A little hip-hop and funk to balance the fusion is in order, so here comes a Corey Parker tune played by James Brown’s favorite sax player. Band members include Rodney “Skeet” Curtis on bass: Kevin Hupp on drums; Bruno Speight on guitar; Will Boulware on organ; and Audrey Martells, Diann Dorrell and Corey Parker on vocals.

Gwilym Simcock, Tim Garland & Asaf Sirkis – “Devilled” from Lighthouse. This bass-less trio setting wed Tim Garland (reeds);  Gwilym Simcock (piano) and Asaf Sirkis (drums and percussion) had grown substantially since their 2005 debut. Watch for the young Simcock as an emerging talent in composition (nine songs of this CD) and performance.