Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Straight No Chaser - A Jazz Show

Welcome to Straight No Chaser, the Award-winning Podcast hosted by Jeffrey Siegel

Jun 21, 2021

It's a pleasure to be able to say that there is a two day live jazz festival happening this weekend, June 25-26, in upstate New York. After a one-year hiatus, the Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival is back!

Scaled down in size due to health restrictions, nonetheless Danny Melnick, the festival producer is happy with the results. Any festival that presents Christian McBridge, Dianne Reeves, Joey Alexander, Cecile McLoren Salvant, Artemis, and Al DiMeola is bound to be a winner. 

Podcast 827 is my annual conversation with Danny, as he talks about the long road to return he and his team have taken to get live music back on stage. Musical highlights of the podcast include Christian McBride's New Jawn performing "Walkin' Funny" from their debut CD and Artemis playing "Big Top" from their eponymous album of last year. 

Acts scheduled to appear:


Christian McBride New Jawn

Christian McBride, bass

Marcus Strickland, saxophones

Josh Evans, trumpet

Nasheet Waits, drums

Dianne Reeves

Dianne Reeves, vocals

Romero Lubambo, guitar

Itaiguara Brandao, bass

Ms. Nêgah Santos, percussion

Joey Alexander

Joey Alexander, piano

Larry Grenadier, bass

Kendrick Scott, drums

Hot Club of Saratoga

Chuck Kish, guitar, vocals

Jonathan Greene, clarinet
Tucker Callander, violin
Dylan Perrillo, bass, vocals
Brad Brose, guitar, banjo

Julia Posin, vocals

SUNDAY, JUNE 27, 2021

Cecile McLorin Salvant

Cecile McLorin Salvant, vocals

Sullivan Fortner, piano

Rogerio Boccato, percussion

Marvin Sewell, guitar

Dayna Stephens, flute, EWI (electronic wind instrument)


Renee Rosnes, piano, musical director

Ingrid Jensen, trumpet

Nicole Glover, tenor saxophone

Noriko Ueda, bass

Allison Miller, drums

Al Di Meola

Al Di Meola, guitar

Garland Nelson’s Joyful Noise

Garland Nelson, voice

Annette Harris, voice

Georgia Jones, voice

Chris Dollard, voice

Patricia Burke, voice

Azzaam Hameed, piano

Al Brisbane, bass

George Spencer, drums